About Lowy Distinguished Guest Professors

  • About
  • Next Year


Visitors for the Academic Year 2023/2024


Name Institution Period of Visit Host

Prof. Joseph Y.  Halpern

Joseph C. Ford Chair of Engineering
Computer Science Department
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY, USA

Phone: +1 (607) 255-9562
Email: JYH13@cornell.edu

October 8, 2023 -
January 8, 2024

Host: Prof. Rafael Pass
Blavatnik School of Computer Science

Email: rafaelp@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Sacha Stern

Professor of Rabbinic Judaism
Head, Department of Hebrew and
Jewish Studies
University College London, London, UK

Phone: +44 020 7679 0483
Email: sacha.stern@ucl.ac.uk

October 15, 2023 -
January 14, 2024

Host: Prof. Gideon Bohak
Department of Jewish Philosophy
School of Philosophy
The Zvi Yavetz School of Historical Studies

Phone: +972-3-6409790
Email: gbohak@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Alex Evilevitch

Department of Experimental Medical Science
Faculty of Medicine
Lund University
Lund, Sweden

Phone: +46 462220947
Email: alex.evilevitch@med.lu.se

Winter Semester

Host: Dr. Ayelet Lesman
School of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: +972-3-6408233
Email: ayeletlesman@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Yan Fyodorov

Chair in Disordered Systems
Mathematics Department
King's College London
London, UK

Phone: +44 020 7848 5894
Email:  yan.fyodorov@kcl.ac.uk


Winter Semester

Host: Prof. Ron Peled
Department of Theoretical Mathematics

Phone: +972-3-6408034
Email: peledron@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Eitan Tamor

Distinguished University Professor
Department of Mathematics
Institute for Physical Science and Technology
University of Maryland
College Park, MD, USA

Phone: +1 (301) 405 0648
Email: tadmor@umd.edu


Winter Semester

Host: Prof. Yaron Ostrover
Department of Theoretical Mathematics
School of Mathematical Sciences

Phone: +972-3-6408033
Email: ostrover@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Olga Sorkine-Hornung

Full Professor of Computer Science
Head, the Interactive Geometry Lab
Institute for Visual Computing
Department of Computer Science
ETH Zurich, Switzerland 

Phone: +41 44 632 83 57
Email: sorkine@inf.ethz.ch

February 10-24,

Host: Prof. Raja Giryes
School of Electrical Engineering

Email: raja@tauex.tau.ac.il
Phone: +972-3-6405630

Prof. Gordon N. Hutner

Department of English
University of Illinois
Urbana, Illinois, USA

Phone: +1 (217) 244-3398
Email: hutner@illinois.edu

Winter Semester
One week 

Host: Prof. Spencer Morrison
English and American Studies

Email: spencer@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. John J. Wiens

Department of Ecology and
Evolutionary Biology
University of Arizona, Tuscon, Arizona, USA

Office Phone: +1 520 621-0337
Lab Phone: +1 520 621-9765
Email: wiensj@email.arizona.edu

April 2024

Host: Prof. Shai Meiri
School of Zoology

Email: uncshai@tauex.tau.ac.il
Phone: +972-3-6409811

Prof. Janet Walker

Professor of Film and Media Studies
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Email:  jwalker@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

One month 
Academic Year 2023/2024

Host: Prof. Yaron Bloch
The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television

Phone: 972-3-6406848
Email: yaronb@tauex.tau.ac.il


Visitors for the Academic Year 2024/2025


Name Institution Period of Visit Host

Prof. Amita Dhanda

Head, the Centre for Disability Studies
Head, the Centre for Legal Philosophy
and Justice Education
NALSAR University of Law
Justice City, Shameerpet, Medchal District
Hyderabad, Telangana, India 

Phone: +91 40 23498222 

Six weeks
Academic Year 2024/2025

Host: Prof. Neta Ziv
Equity and Diversity Commission
Faculty of Law

Phone: +972-3-6405561
Email: zneta@tauex.tau.ac.il

Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>