About IAS Distinguished Scholars

  • About
  • Current Year
  • Next Year

Visitors for the Academic Year 2021/2022

Name Institution Period of Visit Host

Prof. Shai Secunda 

Jacob Neusner Professor in the History and Theology of Judaism
Director of the Interdisciplinary Study of Religions Program
Bard College
Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA

Phone: +1 (845) 758-7389
Email: ssecunda@bard.edu

Three months
1 November 2021-
30 January 2022
Prof. Ishay Rosen Zvi
Department of Jewish Philosophy
Phone: 03-6409954
Email: rosenzvi@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Peter John Loewen

Department of Political Science
Munk School of Global Affairs and Public
The University of Toronto,
Toronto, Canada

Email: peter.loewen@utoronto.ca

November 7-14,
2021
and 
Spring 2022
Dr. Lior Sheffer
School of Political Science, Government,
​and International Affairs

Phone: +972-3-647-707-1185
Email: liorsheffer@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Abigail Gillman 

Professor of Hebrew, German and Comparative Litterature 
Department of World Languages and Literatures
Boston University, Boston, USA

Phone: +1 (617) 358-6374
Email: agillman@bu.edu

Three months
November 18, 2021-
January 13, 2022
and
May 20 - June 20,
2022

Prof. Galili Shahar
Head, School of Cultural Science
Phone: +972-3-6409325
Email: gshahar@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Rafael Pass

Professor
Department of Computer Science 
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
Cornell Tech, New York, NY, USA

Email: rafael@cs.cornell.edu

Three month
February 
1 - April 30,
2002

Dr. Nir Bitansky
School of Computer Sciences
Email: nirbitan@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Dr. Omer Paneth
School of Computer Sciences
Phone: 03-6406488
Email: omerpa@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Ivan Smalyukh

Professor of Physics
Department of Physics and Soft Materials Research Center
University of Colorado at Boulder
Boulder, Colorado, USA

Phone: +1 (303) 492-7277 
Email: Ivan.Smalyukh@colorado.edu

Two months 
February 11 - May 9,
2022

 

Prof. Yair Shokef
School of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 03-6408393
Email: shokef@tau.ac.il 

 

Prof. Oheim Martin

Director of the Saints-Pères Paris Institute for the
​Neurosciences (SPPIN), 
CNRS UMR8003 at CNRS
Paris, France

Email: martin.oheim@parisdescartes.fr

One month
March 17-28, 2022

and 
Spring 2022
Dr. Pablo Blinder
Department of Neurobiology
Phone: +972-3- 03-6409640
Email: pb@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Francesco Andriulli

Department of Electronics and Telecommunications
Politecnico di Torino,
Torino, Italy

Email: francesco.andriulli@imt-atlantique.fr

Two weeks
March 28 -.
April 10, 2022
Prof. Amir Boag
Department of Physical Electronics
School of Electrical Engineering
Phone: +972-3- 6408246
Email: boag@eng.tau.ac.il

Prof. Alex Zunger

Research Professor 
Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute
University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado, USA

Phone: +1 (303) 492-7084
Email: alex.zunger@colorado.edu

Three months
March 28 - April 30, 
2022
Prof. Ori Cheshnovsky
Emeritus in School of Chemistry
Phone: 03-6408325
Email: orich@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Nancy Lane, M.D.

Distinguished Professor of Medicine and
Rheumatology
University of California, Davis Medical Center
California, USA

Phone: +1 (650) 703-4662
Email: nelane@ucdavis.edu

April 11 -
April 13,
2022

Prof. Yankel Gabet
Head of the Anatomy and Anthropology
Department
Faculty of Medicine
Phone: 03-6407684
Another phone: 03-6407628
Email: yankel@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Prof. Jan Grabowski

Professor of History
Department of History
University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada

Phone: +1 (613) 562-5800
Email: jgrabows@uOttawa.ca

One month
April 24 -
May 19,
2022

Prof. Hava Dreifuss
Department of Jewish History
Phone: 03-6409079
Email: havi@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Michael Glanzberg

Professor of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy
Rutgers University, NJ, USA

Email: 
michael.glanzberg@philosophy.rutgers.edu

Three weeks
April 29 - July 2, 
2022
Dr. Ofra Rechter
Department of Philosophy
Phone: 03-6405034
Email: rechter@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Michael Snyder

Stanford W. Ascherman, Professor in Genetics
Chair, Department of Genetics
Director, Center for Genomics and
Personalized Medicine
Stanford University, CA, USA

Phone: +1 (650) 723-4668
Email: mpsnyder@stanford.edu

May 2022

Prof. Karen Avraham
Vice Dean, Faculty of Medicine
Drs. Sarah and Felix Dumont
Chair for Research of Hearing Disorders
Phone: 03-6407030
Email: karena@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Jonathan Selinger

Ohio Eminent Scholar
Professor of Physics
Physics Department
Advanced Materials and Liquid Crystal Institute
Kent State University, Kent, Ohio, USA

Phone: +1 (330) 672-4875
Email: jselinge@kent.edu


May 23 -
July 6,
2022
Prof. Yair Shokef
School of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 03-6408393
Email: shokef@tau.ac.il 

Prof. Robin Blumberg Selinger

Professor of Physics
Physics Department
Advanced Materials and Liquid Crystal Institute
Kent State University, Kent, Ohio, USA

Phone: +1 (330) 672-1582
Email: rselinge@kent.edu


May 23 -
July 6,
2022
Prof. Yair Shokef
School of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 03-6408393
Email: shokef@tau.ac.il 

Prof. Michael Renov 

Vice Dean of Academic Affairs
Haskell Wexler Endowed Chair in Documentary
Division of Cinema and Media Studies
University of Southern California School of Cinematic Arts,
Los Angeles, CA, USA

Phone: +1 (213) 740-2804
Email: renov@usc.edu

 

Four weeks
June 2-28, 2022

Prof. Raz Yosef
The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television
Email: razyosef@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Dr. Ohad Landesman
The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television
Email: 
lander@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Jotun Hein 

Professor of Bioinformatics
Department of Statistics
The University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Phone: +44 (0)1865 285387 
Email: hein@stats.ox.ac.uk

Six weeks
Academic year
2021/2022
Prof. Tal Pupko
Dep. of Cell Research and Immunology
Molecular Cell Biology and Biotechnology
Phone: 03-6407693
Email:  talp@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Dr. Joerg Enderlein

Professor of Biophysics and Complex Systems
Third Institute of Physics 
Georg August University of Göttingen, Göttingen, Germany

Phone: +49 551 39 26908
Email: joerg.enderlein@phys.uni-goettingen.de

Three weeks
Spring Semester,
2022

Prof. Yuval Ebenstein
School of Chemistry
Phone: 03-6408901
Email: uv@tauex.tau.ac.il

Ms. Olga Tokarczuk

Nobel Prize Laureate in Literature for 2018
​Wrocław, Poland

Two-Three months
Spring Semester,
2022

Prof. Avner Holtzman
Department of Literature
Phone: +972-3- 6409882
Email:  avnerhol@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Pedro Vieira

​​

The Clay Riddell Paul Dirac Chair in Theoretical Physics
Perimeter Institute for  Theoretical Physics 
Perimeter Research Chair,
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Email: pvieira@perimeterinstitute.ca

 

Four-Six weeks
Spring Semester,
2022

Dr. Amit Sever
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3- 6408579 
Email: asever@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Paul North

Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
Yale University
New Haven, Connecticut, USA

Email: paul.a.north@yale.edu

Three weeks
Spring Semester,
2022

Prof. Galili Shahar
Head, School of Cultural Science
Phone: +972-3-6409325

Email: gshahar@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Herman Aguinis

Vice President & Program Chair - Academy of Management
Avram Tucker Distinguished Scholar
Chairperson, Department of Management
The George Washington University School of Business
Washington DC, USA Washington, D.C., USA

Email: haguinis@gwu.edu

One week
 

Dr. Uriel Stettner
Academic Director, Coller School of Management
Phone: +972-3- 640-6330
Email: urielste@tauex.tau.ac.il

Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>