About Sackler Scholars

updated: 16.08.2021

  • About
  • Current Year
  • Next Year
Name Institution Period of Visit Host

Sackler Fellows 2021/2022:

Prof. Susan B. Davidson

Weiss Professor
Department of Computer and Information Science
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Email: susan@cis.upenn.edu


September 30, 2021 - 
December 22, 2021

Host: Prof. Tova Milo
Chair, Information Management
School of Computer Science
Phone: +972-3-640-6075

Phonemilo@cs.tau.ac.il

Prof. Martin Yarmush 

Professor in the department of 
biomedical of engineering
Rutgers University
NJ,  USA

Senior Lectureship
Surgery and bioengineering
Harvard Medical School

Email:  yarmush@soe.rutgers.edu

April 3 - June 26,
2022

Host: Dr. Alexander Golberg
Senior Lecturer
Porter School of Environmental
and Earth Sciences
Faculty of Exact Sciences
Phone +972-3-6407182

Email: agolberg@gmail.com

Prof. Glenn W. Most

Faculty of Humanities
Scuola Normale Superiore
Committee on Social Thought
The University of Chicago

Email: glenn.most@sns.it

 

November 1 -
December 15
2021

Host: Prof. Orna Harari 
The Head of the Department of Classics
Phone: +972-3-6409779

Email:oharari@tauex.tau.ac.il 

Prof. Shaul Katzir
Director of the Cohn Institute for the History
and Philosophy of Science and Ideas

Phone: +972-073-3804526
Email: skatzir@post.tau.ac.il

Prof. Yaacob Dweck

Department of History and Judaic Studies
Princeton University
Princeton, New Jersey, USA

Email: jdweck@princeton.edu

A month
May 15
June 15
2022

Host: Prof. Ishay Rosen-Zvi
Department of Jewish Philosophy and Talmud
School of Jewish Studies and Archaeology
Phone: +972-3-6409954

Email: rosenzvi@post.tau.ac.il

       

Sackler Lecturers 2021/2022:

Prof. Antonio Panaino

Department of Cultural Heritage
University of Bologna
Ravenna, Italy

Email: antonio.panaino@unibo.it

 

December 2021

Host: Dr. Domenico Agostini
Department of History
Phone: +972-3-6406806

Email: agostini@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. James Conant

Alexander von Humboldt-Professor
Institute of Philosophy
Leipzig University, Leipzig, Germany

Phone: +49 341 97-35773
Email: james_ferguson.conant@uni-leipzig.de

Chester D. Tripp Professor of Humanities
Professor of Philosophy
Professor in the College 
University of Chicago, Chicago, USA
Phone: +1 (773) 702-6146
Email: jconant@uchicago.edu

 


December 12-26,
2021

Host: Prof. Eli Friedlander
Department of Philosophy
Phone: +972-3-6408296
Email: frieli@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Andrew Ewald

Professor and Director of Cell Biology
School of Medicine Center for Cell Dynamics
Baltimore, MD, John Hopkins University, USA

Email: andrew.ewald@jhmi.edu

13 days
March 2022

Host: Prof. Ronen Zaidel-Bar
Cell and Developmental Biology
Phone: +972-3-6406781
Email: zaidelbar@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Mario Feldman

Associate Professor of Molecular Microbiology
School of Medicine
Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO, USA

Phone: +1 (314) 747-4473
Email: mfeldman@wusm.wustl.edu

One/Two weeks
​March 2022
Host: Dr. Dor Salomon
Clinical Microbiology and Immunology
Phone: +972-3-6408583
Email: dorsalomon@mail.tau.ac.il

Prof. Francesco Bullo

Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Affiliate, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Affiliate, Department of Computer Science
Affiliate, Center for Control, Dynamical Systems, and Computation
College of Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Phone: +1 (805) 893-5169
Email: bullo@engineering.ucsb.edu

Ten days 
June 1-9, 
2022

Host: Prof. Michael Margaliot
School of Electrical Engineering
Phone: +972-3-6407768 
Email: michaelm@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Javier Tiffenberg

KICP Associate fellow
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory Particle Physics
Division / Astro-Experiment
Chicago University, Chicago, Illinois, USA 

 

Phone: +1 (630) 840-8630
Email: javiert@fnal.gov

Two weeks  Host: Prof. Erez Etzion 
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3-6408636
Email: ereze@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Ralph Etienne-Cummings

Professor and Chairman
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Phone: +1 (410) 516-3494
Email: retienne@jhu.edu

 
Two weeks  Host: Prof. Israel Gannot
Department of Bio-Medical Engineering
Phone: +972-3-6406711
Email: gannoti@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Peter Basser

Senior Investigator
Section on Quantitative Imaging and Tissue Sciences
NICHD/DIR
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Phone: +1 (301) 435-1949
Email: peter.basser@nih.gov

Two weeks

Host: Prof. Nir Sochen
Department of Applied Mathematics
Phone: +972-3-6409622
Email: sochen@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Edward Melanson

Professor
Medicine-Endocrinology/Metabolism/Diabetes
University of Colorado Hospital (UCH)
Aurora, Colorado, USA

Phone: +1 (303) 724-0935
Email: edward.melanson@ucdenver.edu

One week  Host: Dr. Yftach Gepner
School of Public Health
Phone: +972-3-6404726
Email: gepner@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. David Dean 

Professor
Statistical Physics
Laboratoire Ondes et Matière d’aquitaine (LOMA)
University of Bordeaux, Talence, France

Phone: + 33 (0)5 40 00 26 03
Email: david.dean@u-bordeaux.fr

Academic year
2021/2022
Host: Prof. Haim Diamant
School of Chemistry
Phone: +972-3-6406967
Email: hdiamant@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Efraim Benmelech

Harold L. Stuart Professor of Finance
Director of the Guthrie Center for Real Estate Research
Kellogg School of Management
Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

Phone: +1 (847) 491-4462
Email: 
e-benmelech@kellogg.northwestern.edu

 

One week

Host: Prof. Nittai Bergman
School of Economics
Email: nbergman@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Steve Granick


Director
IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter
Ulsan, Republic of Korea

 

Phone: 052-217-5508
Email: sgranick@ibs.re.kr

Academic year
2021/2022
Host: Prof. Yael
Prof. Yael Roichman
School of Chemistry
Phone: +972-3-6405848
Email: roichman@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Prof. Nathalie Sims

Head
Bone Cell Biology and Disease Unit
Deputy Director 
St. Vincent's Institute of Medical Research
Fitzroy, Australia

Professorial Fellow
The University of Melbourne, Australia
Phone: +61392312555
Emai: nsims@unimelb.edu.au

Academic year
2021/2022

Hosts:
Prof. Drorit Neumann
Cell and Developmental Biology
Medicine Dean & Assoc. Deans
Phone: +972-3-6407256
Email: histo6@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Yankel Gabet
Anatomy and Anthropology
Phone: +972-3-6407684
Email: yankel@tauex.tau.ac.il

Mr. Nick Vallelonga

American actor, screenwriter, producer,
and film director
Hollywood, USA
Academic year
2021/2022
Host: Prof. Raz Yosef
The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television
Email: razyosef@tauex.tau.ac.il
Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>