About Sackler Scholars

updated: 15.09.2022

  • About
  • Current Year
  • Next Year
Name Institution Period of Visit Host

Sackler Fellows 2022/2023:

 

 

Prof. Glenn W. Most

Retired Professor
Faculty of Humanities
Scuola Normale Superiore

Committee on Social Thought
The University of Chicago

Email: glenn.most@sns.it

 


November 5-
December 18, 2022

Host: Prof. Orna Harari 
The Head of the Department of Classics
Phone: +972-3-6409779

Email:oharari@tauex.tau.ac.il 

Prof. Shaul Katzir
Director of the Cohn Institute for the History
and Philosophy of Science and Ideas

Phone: +972-073-3804526
Email: skatzir@post.tau.ac.il

 

Ms. Olga Tokarczuk


Credit: Staffan Löwstedt.

Nobel Prize Laureate in Literature for 2018
​Wrocław, Poland
March 15-May 30,
2023
Prof. Avner Holtzman
Department of Literature
Phone: +972-3- 6409882
Email:  avnerhol@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Martin Yarmush 

Department of Biomedical of Engineering
Rutgers University
NJ,  USA

Senior Lectureship
Surgery and bioengineering
Harvard Medical School

Email:  yarmush@soe.rutgers.edu

The second part
of his visit

Academic Year
2022/2023

Host: Dr. Alexander Golberg
Senior Lecturer
Porter School of Environmental
and Earth Sciences
Faculty of Exact Sciences
Phone +972-3-6407182

Email: agolberg@gmail.com

       

Sackler Lecturers 2022/2023:

 

Prof. François Englert

Sackler Professor by Special Appointment
Professor Emeritus
Nobel Prize Laureate
Faculty of Sciences
Université Libre de Bruxelles
Bruxelles, Belgique
October 19-November 2,
2022
Host: Prof. Marek Karliner
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3-6406373
Email: marek@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Prof. James Conant

Alexander von Humboldt-Professor
Institute of Philosophy
Leipzig University, Leipzig, Germany

Phone: +49 341 97-35773
Email: james_ferguson.conant@uni-leipzig.de

Chester D. Tripp Professor of Humanities
Professor of Philosophy
Professor in the College 
University of Chicago, Chicago, USA
Phone: +1 (773) 702-6146
Email: jconant@uchicago.edu

December 2022 Host: Prof. Eli Friedlander
Department of Philosophy
Phone: +972-3-6408296
Email: frieli@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Antonio Panaino

Department of Cultural Heritage
University of Bologna
Ravenna, Italy

Email: antonio.panaino@unibo.it

December 6-23,
2022

Host: Dr. Domenico Agostini
Department of History
Phone: +972-3-6406806

Email: agostini@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. David Dean 

Professor
Statistical Physics
Laboratoire Ondes et Matière d’aquitaine (LOMA)
University of Bordeaux, Talence, France

Phone: + 33 (0)5 40 00 26 03
Email: david.dean@u-bordeaux.fr

January 8-22,
2023
Host: Prof. Haim Diamant
School of Chemistry
Phone: +972-3-6406967
Email: hdiamant@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Howard Stone

Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor
in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Science
Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA

Phone : +1 (609) 258-9493 
Email: hastone@princeton.edu
 

January 17-20,
2023
Host: Prof. David Andelman
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3-640-7239
E-mail: andelman@post.tau.ac.il

Dr. Javier Tiffenberg

KICP Associate fellow
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory Particle Physics
Division / Astro-Experiment
Chicago University, Chicago, Illinois, USA 

 

Phone: +1 (630) 840-8630
Email: javiert@fnal.gov

Two weeks 
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Erez Etzion 
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3-6408636
Email: ereze@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Peter Basser

Senior Investigator
Section on Quantitative Imaging and Tissue Sciences
NICHD/DIR
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Phone: +1 (301) 435-1949
Email: peter.basser@nih.gov

Two weeks
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Nir Sochen
Department of Applied Mathematics
Phone: +972-3-6409622
Email: sochen@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Edward Melanson

Professor
Medicine-Endocrinology/Metabolism/Diabetes
University of Colorado Hospital (UCH)
Aurora, Colorado, USA

Phone: +1 (303) 724-0935
Email: edward.melanson@ucdenver.edu

One week 
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Dr. Yftach Gepner
School of Public Health
Phone: +972-3-6404726
Email: gepner@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Ralph Etienne-Cummings

Professor and Chairman
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Phone: +1 (410) 516-3494
Email: retienne@jhu.edu
Two weeks 
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Israel Gannot
Department of Bio-Medical Engineering
Phone: +972-3-6406711
Email: gannoti@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Efraim Benmelech

Harold L. Stuart Professor of Finance
Director of the Guthrie Center for Real Estate Research
Kellogg School of Management
Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

Phone: +1 (847) 491-4462
Email: 
e-benmelech@kellogg.northwestern.edu

One week
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Nittai Bergman
School of Economics
Email: nbergman@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Steve Granick

Director
IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter
Ulsan, Republic of Korea

 

Phone: 052-217-5508
Email: sgranick@ibs.re.kr

Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Yael
Prof. Yael Roichman
School of Chemistry
Phone: +972-3-6405848
Email: roichman@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Prof. Andrew Ewald

Professor and Director of Cell Biology
School of Medicine Center for Cell Dynamics
Baltimore, MD, John Hopkins University, USA

Email: andrew.ewald@jhmi.edu

Three weeks
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Ronen Zaidel-Bar
Cell and Developmental Biology
Phone: +972-3-6406781
Email: zaidelbar@tauex.tau.ac.il

Mr. Nick Vallelonga

American actor, screenwriter, producer,
and film director
Hollywood, USA
Academic year
2022/2023
Host: Prof. Raz Yosef
The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television
Email: razyosef@tauex.tau.ac.il
Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>