About Sackler Scholars

updated: 11.05.2022

  • About
  • Current Year
  • Next Year
Name Institution Period of Visit Host

Sackler Fellows 2021/2022:


Prof. Susan B. Davidson

Weiss Professor
Department of Computer and Information Science
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Email: susan@cis.upenn.edu

September 30, 2021 - 
December 22, 2021

Host: Prof. Tova Milo
Chair, Information Management
School of Computer Science
Phone: +972-3-6406075


Prof. Yuval Grossman 

Professor of Theoretical Physics 
Department of Physics
Cornell University

Ithaca, New York, USA

Phone: +1 (607) 255-4916
Email: yg73@cornell.edu

March 1, 2022 -
June 30, 2022
Host: Prof. Tomer Volansky
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3-6407026
Email: tomerv@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Martin Yarmush 

Professor in the department of 
biomedical of engineering
Rutgers University

Senior Lectureship
Surgery and bioengineering
Harvard Medical School

Email:  yarmush@soe.rutgers.edu

April 3 - June 26,

Host: Dr. Alexander Golberg
Senior Lecturer
Porter School of Environmental
and Earth Sciences
Faculty of Exact Sciences
Phone +972-3-6407182

Email: agolberg@gmail.com

Prof. Yaacob Dweck

Department of History and Judaic Studies
Princeton University
Princeton, New Jersey, USA

Email: jdweck@princeton.edu

A month
May 15
June 15

Host: Prof. Ishay Rosen-Zvi
Department of Jewish Philosophy and Talmud
School of Jewish Studies and Archaeology
Phone: +972-3-6409954

Email: rosenzvi@post.tau.ac.il


Sackler Lecturers 2021/2022:


Prof. Mario Feldman

Associate Professor of Molecular Microbiology
School of Medicine
Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO, USA

Phone: +1 (314) 747-4473
Email: mfeldman@wusm.wustl.edu

​March 11-26,

Host: Dr. Dor Salomon
Clinical Microbiology and Immunology
Phone: +972-3-6408583
Email: dorsalomon@mail.tau.ac.il

Prof. Francesco Bullo

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Affiliate, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Affiliate, Department of Computer Science
Affiliate, Center for Control, Dynamical Systems, and Computation
College of Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Phone: +1 (805) 893-5169
Email: bullo@engineering.ucsb.edu

May 15-24, 

Host: Prof. Michael Margaliot
School of Electrical Engineering
Phone: +972-3-6407768 
Email: michaelm@tauex.tau.ac.il


Host: Prof. George Weiss 
Department of Electrical Engineering-Systems
Phone: +972-3-6405164
Email: gweiss@eng.tau.ac.il


Prof. Nathalie Sims

Bone Cell Biology and Disease Unit
Deputy Director 
St. Vincent's Institute of Medical Research
Fitzroy, Australia

Professorial Fellow
The University of Melbourne, Australia
Phone: +61392312555
Emai: nsims@unimelb.edu.au

May 20-27,

Prof. Drorit Neumann
Cell and Developmental Biology
Medicine Dean & Assoc. Deans
Phone: +972-3-6407256
Email: histo6@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Yankel Gabet
Anatomy and Anthropology
Phone: +972-3-6407684
Email: yankel@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Javier Tiffenberg

KICP Associate fellow
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory Particle Physics
Division / Astro-Experiment
Chicago University, Chicago, Illinois, USA 


Phone: +1 (630) 840-8630
Email: javiert@fnal.gov

Two weeks  Host: Prof. Erez Etzion 
School of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +972-3-6408636
Email: ereze@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Peter Basser

Senior Investigator
Section on Quantitative Imaging and Tissue Sciences
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Phone: +1 (301) 435-1949
Email: peter.basser@nih.gov

Two weeks

Host: Prof. Nir Sochen
Department of Applied Mathematics
Phone: +972-3-6409622
Email: sochen@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Edward Melanson

University of Colorado Hospital (UCH)
Aurora, Colorado, USA

Phone: +1 (303) 724-0935
Email: edward.melanson@ucdenver.edu

One week  Host: Dr. Yftach Gepner
School of Public Health
Phone: +972-3-6404726
Email: gepner@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. David Dean 

Statistical Physics
Laboratoire Ondes et Matière d’aquitaine (LOMA)
University of Bordeaux, Talence, France

Phone: + 33 (0)5 40 00 26 03
Email: david.dean@u-bordeaux.fr

Academic year
Host: Prof. Haim Diamant
School of Chemistry
Phone: +972-3-6406967
Email: hdiamant@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Efraim Benmelech

Harold L. Stuart Professor of Finance
Director of the Guthrie Center for Real Estate Research
Kellogg School of Management
Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA

Phone: +1 (847) 491-4462


One week

Host: Prof. Nittai Bergman
School of Economics
Email: nbergman@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Steve Granick

IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter
Ulsan, Republic of Korea


Phone: 052-217-5508
Email: sgranick@ibs.re.kr

Academic year
Host: Prof. Yael
Prof. Yael Roichman
School of Chemistry
Phone: +972-3-6405848
Email: roichman@tauex.tau.ac.il


Mr. Nick Vallelonga

American actor, screenwriter, producer,
and film director
Hollywood, USA
Academic year
Host: Prof. Raz Yosef
The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television
Email: razyosef@tauex.tau.ac.il
Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>